Funfetti Cupcakes with Buttercream Icing

On Monday I decided to add some color to this new week by making funfetti cupcakes and colored buttercream icing! I usually use a vanilla cupcake recipe from Stephanie Jaworski from JoyofBaking.com but this time I decided to try a recipe from Jemma Wilson, also known as Cupcake Jemma on YouTube.

I used the following video recipe demonstration, but decided not to add any sprinkles to her buttercream frosting. Instead, I added a drop of blue food coloring, which resulted in a lovely turquoise color. I also finally got to test out my new piping tool, so I played around with the frosting. By the way, although the recipe is for 12 cupcakes, I used silicone heart-shaped muffin cases, so it was enough for 8.

Here is a recap of the recipe:

  • 125 gr. butter
  • 125 gr. sugar
  • 125 gr. self-raising flour
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/4 teaspoon soda
  • 1 1/2 tablespoon milk
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla
  • 20 gr. sprinkles

The recipe for the buttercream icing:

  • 335 gr. icing sugar
  • 150 gr. butter
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2-3 tablespoons of milk (the milk should be added accordingly; since I used liquid food coloring, I used about 2 tablespoons)

Hope you have a nice week!

– Zi

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

