My First Chocolate Cake Recipe

Hi everyone!

Today marks the third consecutive day that I have been baking; I baked a chocolate cake with frosting for my friend’s birthday on Saturday, a quick cinnamon cake on Sunday, and my very own chocolate cake today!

15398876_10154871583894575_1063526031_o

 

This is my own recipe, as I simply could not find a chocolate cake recipe online that I was 100% happy with. Most chocolate cake recipes include ingredients like coffee, bitter chocolate, or self-rising flour, which are ingredients I rarely have. I wanted something quick and easy to make, so this is how this recipe came to life! I then used the buttercream icing I had used before on this blog, but I halved the measurements, since I find the portion a little too large. The decorative aspect is totally up to you, you can even simply settle for sugar powder.

Chocolate Cake Recipe15368911_10154871583954575_1175029012_o

  • 250 gr. flour
  • 250 gr. sugar
  • 110 gr. butter
  • 2 tablespoons cocoa
  • 2 eggs
  • 180 ml. milk
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla powder
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • pinch of salt

 

I used a 26 cm round pan, which I buttered and floured before adding in the batter. It took about 35 minutes to bake at 180 degrees Celsius.

The final result is a semi-sweet and very soft chocolate cake, as you can see from the photo above. Neither the cocoa nor the sugar is overpowering, so it’s great if you plan on using sweet icing on top. Also, the size of this cake is perfect if you want one that will be enough for a small group, but do not want any leftovers.

Once again, this is my very first attempt at this recipe, so you can be sure that I will be experimenting in the future to make it perfect. I am also in the process of making my own brownie recipe, so stay tuned for that!

If you try this out, please tweet me @acupofteawithzi 🙂

– Zi

P.S. I apologize for the poor photo quality, since I photograph with my cellphone in far from ideal kitchen lighting.

 

Leave a Reply

