Chocolate Cupcakes with Red Icing

Hello again, at last!

It feels like ages since I last posted, so it feels good to be back. Seeing how it is the end of the semester, it’s an extremely busy time for me, but I still managed to squeeze in some time to bake last night. Yes, I literally baked at night – I finally finished at 00:30 am!

For this blog I attempt to post about a new recipe every time, so although I bake quite frequently, you will only be seeing posts when I bake something different that hasn’t been shared here yet. Hence, this is another reason why I have not been active here.

But anyway, let’s get to the chocolate cupcakes! 15451273_10210968856638677_629804184_n.jpg

I used the recipe provided by “A Thousand Words“, which was pretty easy and didn’t require any fancy ingredients. For example, while Hershey’s Cocoa might be available everywhere in the US or the UK, here in Turkey you will have to pay triple the price as it is considered a fancy imported good. You can watch her bake the cupcakes here, but I will post the metric measurements below:

 

 

  • 350 gr. flour15503036_10210968856838682_1022994086_o.jpg
  • 310 gr. sugar
  • 2 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa
  • 118 gr. butter
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract (I always use Dr. Oetker vanilla powder packets, which equals half a pack)
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder (this equals 1 full Dr. Oetker packet)
  • 118 ml. milk

This is enough for 24 cupcakes and will take about 20 minutes to bake at 180 degrees Celsius. The cupcakes are delicious, but I would personally opt for more sugar or sweet cocoa, or maybe a small dose of brown sugar, as I prefer slightly sweeter cupcakes.

15536901_10210968857198691_1779027751_o.jpg

By the way, while the first 12 were cooling, I baked the other 12 in paper holders as I do not have more silicone ones.

Although they are cute, they are disastrous for the shape, haha. The shape does not hold, naturally, so the cupcakes come out relatively flat and oblong.

In terms of icing, I used the same buttercream icing I have been using in my previous posts from Cupcake Jemma. In case you have missed it, you can find it here. I also used a new bottle of food coloring, which was very pigmented! When I attempted making a red velvet cake I used another brand and had a very small bottle, so it was not sufficient. With this one, however, just a few drops were more than enough.

15540336_10154911985784575_1994018202_o.jpg

I tried out a different nozzle for the icing tool (is that what it is called?)  and used some new decorating ingredients that my friend was kind enough to gift me. As you can tell, the icing is slightly sloppy, but hey, I’m still learning 😀

So there you have it, another easy bake! 🙂

– Zi

One thought on “Chocolate Cupcakes with Red Icing

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

