Mini Donuts with Cinnamon Sugar Topping

Hello everyone!

Hope you all had a very joyful Christmas (if you celebrate it)! 🙂 I don’t officially celebrate it, but for the past 4 years I have been participating in a gift exchange with my friends, also known as Secret Santa. Essentially, I have been organizing Secret Santa since I came to my university in 2013; the group slightly changes every time, but always consists of about 20 or so people. This year was a little extra special, however, since I participated in two of them! One of them was with my circle of friends, while the other was arranged between the Erasmus Student Network members (including myself) and the Erasmus/exchange students.

Naturally, I baked on both occasions, which happened to occur on the same week. The first one was on Wednesday, December 21, for which I baked a tart with custard and green apples, while the other one was on Friday, December 23. On Friday I baked two things, actually – the vanilla cake with sugar glaze, featured on my blog before, and mini donuts with cinnamon topping.

(On the left photo you can see my apple tart in the middle – I was so busy cooking that day, that I completely forgot to take proper photos / On the right was the Secret Santa on Friday, spot my cake and donuts!)

Now let’s get to the mini donuts. In order to make them, I use my very own donut maker, which my mom bought several years ago from Lidl. Truth be told, initially my sister and I never bothered using it, but I finally tested it out about 2-3 years ago and since then occasionally take it out to make some nice donuts.

The machine is a “Silver Crest doughnut maker”, but I have no idea whether you can still buy this. I tried to search online and found this link, but would recommend you to just Google a donut maker, I’m sure you’ll find numerous options.

You can make 7 donuts at a time and they take approximately 3-4 minutes. I don’t even have to butter it, because it doesn’t stick at all.

DSC_0011.JPG

In terms of the recipe, I’m not sure where I found it from. I believe I just combined several recipes, because I found something relatively similar here, but still not exactly what I have written down.

  • 5 tablespoons unsalted, softened DSC_0009.JPGbutter
  • 118 gr. sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 118 ml. milk
  • 355 gr. flour
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • pinch of salt

 

In total, this yields about 32 donuts, taking approximately 30 minutes to make them all. When placing the batter, I use a spoonful. Also, don’t expect them to look completely brown, it’s normal for them to look “patchy”. You will know they’re ready when they’ve risen and are soft and fluffy. Generally, you can add more sugar to the recipe so that they’re even sweeter and won’t need any topping. Once I even switched the milk to chocolate milk, so that was a nice twist. Moreover, I use a spoon to poke the holes.

DSC_0014.JPG

dsc_0015

As for the topping, I melt 60 gr. of butter and then add 60 gr. of sugar and 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon. Last time I first dipped the donuts in the butter and then in the sugar mixed with cinnamon, but this time I mixed it all together to make a paste and then dipped them in that.

This is the final product! My friends absolutely love them! 🙂

dsc_0016

Have a nice week!

– Zi

Leave a Reply

