Survey Results

As my baking and blogging adventures continue, I am drafting potential series/categories for my future posts, which is why I decided a short survey would assist me. Over the past week or so I requested my friends on Facebook to fill out a quick survey with only 3 questions, which were very general, but which can now help me carve a path for the future of my blog. In total, I was able to collect 89 responses, so thank you to everyone who filled it out! ๐Ÿ™‚

Seeing how my blog is still relatively new, I wanted to have a better understanding of what draws people towards baking blogs and how I could make my content better. Therefore, I decided to ask for what reason/purpose they would read or follow a baking blog and what kind of content they seek in them. I also added a third question related to how often they themselves bake, to see if there was any connection between the frequency of their baking and what type of content they prefer/why they read or follow baking blogs. Also, they were allowed to select more than 1 option for the first two questions. Hence, let’s get to the results!

Question 1: For what reason or purpose would you read and/or follow a baking blog?

question-1

Overall, 63 selected “to find new recipes”, 46 “to enjoy visuals of desserts”, 27 “to learn more about baking”, and 1 “other”.

Hence, I will definitely continue sharing recipes on my blogs with ample visuals. I just wish I had a DSLR camera of my own, because using my phone is far from ideal ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

 

 

 

 

Question 2: What would you prefer seeing in a baking blog?

Question 2.JPG

Photo essays were clearly the least desired, so I really hope I will be able to focus on videos in the future. Otherwise, the fact that 54 selected “cheap and easy recipes” definitely goes along with the previous question, which showed why people primarily read or follow baking blogs.

 

Question 3: How often do you bake?

question-3The answers were quite divided for this question, as 32 selected 1-2 times a month, 24 people bake a few times a year, 17 people bake at least once a week, 15 people never bake, and only 1 person bakes almost every day (wow!).

One trend I definitely noticed was that the people who bake more often prefer seeing recipes, while those who bake less are more interested in the visuals.

In total, this was definitely encouraging, in the sense that I want to continue pushing myself in sharing and testing out one recipe after another. As one category, I definitely want to start baking some quick, easy recipes, especially targeted to students on a budget, people who want to bake from scratch, or people who are simply too busy to buy many ingredients and want to make something easy. Keep an eye out for that! Hopefully I can focus on having a post related to this category once a week, for example.

Once again, thank you to everyone who contributed. I know this post is rather different to what I normally post, but I hope it was still enjoyable ๐Ÿ˜€

Until next time!

– Zi

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

