My Brownies with “Cadbury Fruit and Nut” Chocolate Recipe

Greetings from a very cold Ankara!

Hope you all had a lovely start to 2017 πŸ™‚ I’m currently in the middle of my finals at university, so it is certainly a very busy way to start the year. Nevertheless, I decided to bake for the first time this year on Tuesday, so I hope you will enjoy this slightly unconventional brownie recipe.

If you follow me on Twitter, you might have noticed I tweeted a while ago that I was in the process of making my own brownie recipe. Now, there are numerous amazing brownie recipes, so I wanted to experiment and use something else – fruit and nut chocolate. In my case, I had a bar of Cadbury fruit and nut chocolate lying around from the time I bought some from Duty Free when traveling, so this is what I used. Generally, you will not find Cadbury chocolate in Ankara, but I have not yet tried out this recipe with something more accessible, such as Milka.

15878029_10154992369449575_588671671_o

The recipe is quite basic and requires very little time and effort. Overall, it does not take longer than 10-15 minutes (including the preparation, such as pre-heating the oven or buttering the baking tin). I made a very short video of the baking process, which you can watch below, but do keep in mind that I used my cellphone to film and had to use one hand πŸ˜€

The texture of the batter, including the color, appears like caramel. Also, the brownies will have chunks of nuts and fruits (primarily raisins), so it’s a nice little twist to the regular dark chocolate brownies. However, the recipe is still a work-in-progress, so if you try it out and have any suggestions, feel free to tweet me or comment!

The Recipe:15909183_10154992368714575_627917638_o

  • 150 gr. margarine butter
  • 160 gr. brown sugar
  • 160 gr. flour
  • 2 eggs
  • 85 gr. Cadbury fruit and nut chocolate
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • pinch of salt
  1. Melt the butter with the chocolate; there will be chunks of nuts and fruits, so once the butter is completely melted, it’s ready.
  2. Mix the butter with the brown sugar.
  3. Beat in 2 eggs.
  4. Add flour, vanilla, and salt.
  5. Pour the batter into a baking tin and bake at 175 degrees Celsius for about 30-35 minutes.

Lastly, these brownies do not rise a lot (considering how I do not add baking powder or soda), so you can serve them as bite-size brownies.

Hope you have a great week, stay tuned for more posts very soon! πŸ™‚

Until next time,

– Zi

 

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

