Baking with Grandma: “Meat Grinder” Cookies

Greetings from Baku, Azerbaijan!

I have definitely missed writing and baking, but as soon as my finals finished I flew to Azerbaijan for a short break. I have a few more days until I am back in Turkey to complete my last semester at university, so I have been focusing on spending time with my family and relaxing. Nevertheless, I did find some time to bake while staying at one of my grandma’s – we baked something rather unusual! Have you ever seen or used an old school manual meat grinder? If yes, have you ever used it for cookies? 😀

Well, that is exactly what we did! This recipe was in some Russian recipe book and is extremely basic. I do not recommend using it for regular cookies, as the dough is like a shortcrust pastry, so you can definitely find more suitable recipes for simple cut-out cookies.

The Recipe:16196423_10155047557629575_1428620142_o.jpg

  • 250 gr. softened butter or margarine
  • 150-200 gr. sugar*
  • 400-450 gr. flour*
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 teaspoons of vanilla powder
  • 1 teaspoon of baking soda or baking powder
  • pinch of salt

*I must point out that the sugar and flour is marked as “1 cup” and “3 cups” in Russian, respectively, with the understanding of a normal cup. Generally, 1 cup is about 150 grams.

First you have to mix the eggs with the sugar, then add in the butter, and finish off with the dry ingredients (flour, vanilla, baking soda or powder, salt). The consistency should be relatively thick, almost as if you’re making noodles. You can then make sausage-like rolls, which you then allow to rest for 5-10 minutes. Next you simply attach the manual meat grinder to the edge of a table and start placing the rolls one by one and cutting off medium-sized chunks.

collage.jpg

Yes, that is all! The recipe is quick and easy to make, but the only factor making it less “usable” is the necessity of using a meat grinder. It takes about 20 minutes to bake at 180 degrees Celsius and yields approximately 20+ cookies, depending on the size.

To finish off the cookies, we made our own powdered sugar! My grandma used an extremely old “meddler set” (I had to Google how it’s called), which is approximately from the late 1800s, as it used to be owned by her own grandmother. Pretty cool, huh? 🙂

 

Naturally, I made myself tea to drink with the cookies. Let me know if you try this recipe out or what you think of it!

Capture.JPG

Until next time,

– Zi

Leave a Reply

