Happy Valentine’s Day!

Happy Valentine’s Day!!

Today I had about 2 hours before my class, so I decided to bake a quick chocolate cake and cover it with red buttercream icing. I recently bought a heart-shaped cake pan, so this was the perfect time to put it to use!

I used a recipe from House & Garden, as I needed something simple that I could bake in time before my class. The recipe gives the freedom of using either butter or margarine; normally I use margarine when baking, but this time I decided to use butter. Also, it requires self-raising flour, which I didn’t have, so I added an extra teaspoon of baking powder.

The Recipe:16732116_10155128236849575_660458668_o.jpg

  • 175 gr. butter
  • 175 gr. sugar
  • 3 large eggs
  • 150 gr. flour
  • 50 gr. cocoa
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla powder
  • pinch of salt

It takes about 45-50 minutes at 180 degrees Celsius, so although the preparation is very quick, you do have to wait quite some time. By the way, my new heart-shaped cake pan was apparently not of greatest quality, as the bottom was not sealed properly – my cake started leaking from the sides of the pan once I had put it inside! Good thing I noticed it on time, so I put some baking paper on a baking tray and then placed the cake pan on top. Nevertheless, it did make the middle of the cake drop a little, but oh well, better luck next time 😀

Overall, the cake turned out quite soft, with a good balance of cocoa and sugar. In terms of the buttercream icing, I do mix more or less by eye, so my measurements are not 100% accurate, but I approximately used 70 grams of butter, 115 grams of powdered sugar, 1 and a half tablespoon of milk, 1 teaspoon of vanilla, and about 2 teaspoons of red food coloring. Then as a final decoration, I cut out a heart on a piece of A4 paper and covered the cake with it, so as to sprinkle some powdered sugar in the middle 🙂 What do you think?

I hope you all had a lovely day! Don’t forget to follow me on my new Instagram page under ”acupofteawithzi” 🙂

Until next time,

– Zi

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

