Baking on a Sunday: Apple Pie

Good evening!

I am currently waiting for my apple pie to cool down, so in the meantime I will share how I made it 🙂 I used Laura Vitale’s mini apple pie recipe, but as I was rolling the dough open, I decided I wanted to bake a big, full one instead. Thus, I have made some minor changes to the recipe.

16810253_10155149019679575_1654290249_o.jpg

It is a fairly time-consuming process, as you must let the dough chill in the fridge for 1 hour, and you will need some time to roll out the dough. Therefore, the whole process from start to finish (including the baking time) is approximately 2 and a half hours. The measurements on her blog are in cups, so I have converted into grams and milliliters.

Apple Pie Recipe
Crust

  • About 400 gr. flour
  • 60 gr. sugar
  • 225 gr. cold butter (I didn’t have vegetable shortening, so I only used butter)
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon orange zest
  • 1 pack of vanilla powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder (I didn’t have “panegliangeli”, which she uses)
  • 3 egg yolks
  • pinch of salt
  • ice water

Filling

  • 6 small & medium apples (her measurements call for 3)
  • 60 gr. sugar
  • 2 1/2 tablespoons flour
  • Zest of half an orange
  • 2 teaspoons lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • pinch of salt

You may watch her video below if you want a full visual demonstration:

  1. Mix the flour, vanilla, sugar, and salt with a mixer.
  2. Add in the cold butter, which should be cut into small pieces.
  3. Add the egg yolks and once the dough starts coming together, add 1 tablespoon of cold water at a time, until your dough is relatively unified.
  4. Take the dough out on a flat surface covered with flour and knead it until it is soft, completely unified, and no longer sticky. (In order to avoid a big mess, I put flour on a tray and kneaded the dough on that, rather than a table.)
  5. Divide the dough into two even circles and cover them with plasti16830132_10155149017569575_475069265_nc wrap.
  6. Let them chill in the fridge for 1 hour.
  7. Pre-heat the oven to 190 degrees Celsius.
  8. Mix all the ingredients for the filling in one bowl – her recipe calls for 3 apples, but since I switched to a full-size pie, I used 6 small & medium red apples (I didn’t have all of the same size, hehe).
  9. Roll out one piece of the dough until it is even and large enough to cover the pan you’ll be using. (I covered my glass pan with some butter and flour, like I usually do when baking.)
  10. I then made small indents with a fork and filled it up with the apples.
  11. Roll out the second piece of dough and use it to cover your pie.
  12. Use some egg wash to cover the edges of the pie, so the two layers will stick.
  13. Make some slits in the middle of the pie and very lightly coat it with butter and white sugar.
  14. Bake for approximately 35 minutes or until it is a golden color.

In general, it is a nice and fairly simple recipe, just a little time-consuming. I love the mixture of orange zest, apples, and cinnamon! Such an aroma! The orange zest makes it different than classic apple pies, so I liked that. My only regret is leaving the edges without any twisting or braiding, as that would have really improved the appearance of the pie… Next time 😛

Feel free to tweet me nice recipes to try out @acupofteawithzi and follow me on Instagram. I’m off to have some tea with pie!

Until next time,

– Zi

2 thoughts on “Baking on a Sunday: Apple Pie

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

