Baking with only 7 ingredients: Cinnamon Tea Cake

Good morning!

This morning I had a midterm, so last night after I finished studying, I decided to bake as a little pat on the back for myself. Seeing how it was already around 7 pm, I knew I needed to find a recipe with ingredients I would definitely have at hand. After a quick Google search my eye landed on a cinnamon tea cake recipe; I absolutely love cinnamon! What’s also great is that it only requires seven, yes seven, ingredients!!

I originally found the recipe on Reader’s Digest, but it was a little incomplete, so I also double-checked with the Australian Taste Magazine website. Hence, it’s somewhat of a combination of these two.

Cinnamon Tea Cake:17176258_10155192717184575_522885972_o.jpg

  • 65 gr. butter (I used margarine)
  • 145 gr. sugar
  • 200 ml. milk
  • 200 gr. flour (originally calls for self-raising)
  • 1 egg
  • 2 teaspoons of baking powder (since I didn’t use self-raising flour)
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla (extract or powder)
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon (for the topping)
  • 10 gr. butter (for the topping)

All you have to do is mix everything in one bowl and then it’s ready to be baked. Pour the batter into a 20 cm. cake pan that is lined with parchment paper, slightly butter the paper, and bake at 175 degrees Celsius. The baking time is approximately 35 minutes.

Once it’s ready, let it cool for about 5 minutes in the pan and then cover it with butter and the sugar/cinnamon mix. Normally the recipe calls for melted butter, but at this point my butter had been out for almost an hour so it was fairly melted; since the cake was still hot, I used a knife to rub butter on my cake. (Note: I used margarine for the cake, but butter for the topping)

17142369_10155192717229575_1457139368_o

Using my personal experience, here are two quick tips. Firstly, if your butter is not at room temperature, then I recommend cutting into small cubes; this will make the mixing process much simpler. Secondly, don’t add the flour all at once, alternate with the milk so as to avoid too much flour (trust me, this mistake has ruined some of my desserts!). As you alternate you will slowly realize if there’s enough flour.

Don’t be scared if the batter seems watery, it is not meant to be thick. However, if you feel like it resembles soup, then add in a little more flour. I personally added about 15 more grams of flour.

This cake turned out to be so soft, simple, and delicious that I can definitely consider it one of my favorite recipes at the moment. My only disappointment is that it is so small; everyone who tasted it wished I had more! I assure you just one slice will not enough, you’ll definitely crave for more 😀

I strongly urge you to try this super easy recipe and please let me know if you do! 🙂

Until next time,

– Zi

Leave a Reply

