Baking Cinnamon Rolls for the 1st Time!

Hello everyone!

Believe it or not, I had still never made my own cinnamon rolls, which I love. Whenever I am in Azerbaijan for the break, I almost always eat some rolls from Cinnabon; this bakery/cafe doesn’t seem to exist in Turkey. I suppose I always felt scared to attempt making my own, even though I have tried my hand at complicated recipes before, like a red velvet cake. Nevertheless, as I was scrolling through dessert recipes from Home Cooking Adventure, my eye landed on the homemade cinnamon rolls, so I figured that last night was the right time!

(I apologize for the quality of the photos; I finished baking at midnight!)

17310823_10155229239244575_118487886_o.jpg

These cinnamon rolls turned out to be very soft and fluffy, with just the right amount of sugar and cinnamon. I have never received this many requests from my friends and classmates to have one to try!! I can assure you that every single person who had a cinnamon roll really liked it, so definitely try this recipe out and see for yourself 🙂

17342104_10155229239089575_36445430_o.jpg

In terms of the difficulty level, it is about 2/5 as you need to get the right consistency of the dough and roll it out. Otherwise, it is very simple and the recipe requires very common ingredients. Also, the preparation of the dough, the filling, and the baking time are all rather quick, but the cinnamon rolls must be left to rise for an hour before baking, so keep that in consideration when deciding when to bake them. You may watch the video made by Ella, the creator of this recipe, for a visual understanding of the whole process.

Cinnamon Rolls

  • 3 1/2 cups (440 gr.) flour
  • 2 1/4 teaspoon active dry yeast
  • 1 cup (240 ml) lukewarm milk17349216_10155229238894575_1047279756_o.jpg
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 55-60 gr. oil or melted butter (I used melted margarine)
  • 70 gr. butter (filling) (I used margarine)
  • 2 tablespoons cinnamon (filling)
  • 100 gr. brown sugar (filling)
  • 120 gr. powdered sugar (icing)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla (icing) (I used powder)
  • 2-3 tablespoons milk (icing)

As you can see, aside from maybe the yeast or the brown sugar, these are all ingredients you are almost always bound to have! 🙂

  1.  Place the yeast, 1 teaspoon of sugar, and 1/3 cup of milk into one small bowl and let it sit for 1-2 minutes.
  2. In a separate bowl simply add in all the other ingredients: first add flour, 2 tablespoons of sugar, and salt, then add in the butter, yeast mixture, eggs, and remaining 2/3 cup of milk.
  3. You will have to knead the dough until it is one unified mass; expect it to be sticky, but make sure it comes off from the sides of the bowl and does not stick to your hands. Even though the recipe calls for 3 1/2 cups of flour, I used about 4 cups in total, as my dough was initially too sticky – I could barely knead it! Make sure you do not add too much extra flour in one go, keep adding one tablespoon at a time, until you feel it is right.
  4. Allow the dough to sit for about 10 minutes and meanwhile work on the filling.17354739_10155229238849575_165652709_n

The filling only requires 3 ingredients, but it took me a few tries. Definitely make sure the butter you are using is very soft, so it can be easily mixed with the brown sugar and cinnamon; mine was still slightly cold so the filling was not very smooth. Generally, you should aim for a paste-looking filling that will spread on very easily on your dough. In the end I started melting my butter just a little bit and that seemed to help.

Next roll out your dough on an oiled or floured surface (I had a floured one) until it is about 30 by 45 cm – I genuinely used a ruler to make sure it was right, haha. Cover the dough with the filling you just made and gently roll it up. Then cut the dough into about 12 rolls and place them in a tray to sit for 1 hour; line the tray with either parchment paper or aluminum foil and cover it with plastic wrap. Within that hour they will rise and increase in size! 🙂 Finally, place them in a pre-heated oven for approximately 20 minutes at 180 degrees Celsius.

17349148_10155229239199575_1001398412_o.jpg

Prepare the icing a few minutes before they are ready and then drizzle your delicious, hot cinnamon rolls once they’re out of the oven!

Once again, I urge you to try this recipe, it is fantastic 🙂 Don’t forget to follow me on Instagram and Twitter.

Until next time!

– Zi

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Baking Cinnamon Rolls for the 1st Time!

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

