Sweet Saturday: Chocolate Chip Cookies

Happy Saturday!

Hope you all had a good week, happy (belated) St. Patrick’s Day if you celebrated yesterday 🙂 Although I hadn’t baked for about a week after making şekerpare (“shekerpare”), today’s dessert is the fourth I have baked within four days, so I feel much more productive!

17361108_10155236376719575_1206569432_nToday I initially tested out a red velvet brownie recipe from Cravings Journal, but I was rather unhappy and disappointed with the outcome. In her photos the cream cheese part looks so smooth and white, whereas mine looked like cooked cheese. You can see for yourself in the photos…. I was even more distressed because I had to throw them out, which was such a waste of ingredients and effort 😦

Feeling upset with this outcome, I strongly felt the need to redeem myself, so I decided to bake some chocolate chip cookies. I used a Nestlé recipe my friend recommended, so I felt a little more confident that this time I would succeed!

Chocolate Chip Cookies:

  • 2 1/4 cups (approx. 300 gr.) 17407561_10155236914389575_893453571_o.jpgflour
  • 1 cup (approx. 225 gr.) butter (I used margarine)
  • 3/4 cup (approx. 95 gr.) caster sugar
  • 3/4 cup (approx. 95 gr.) brown sugar
  • 2 medium/large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract (I used powder)
  • 2 cups (approx. 250 gr.) chocolate chips
  • 1 cup (approx. 125 gr.) nuts (optional)
  1. Mix the flour, baking soda, and salt in a small, separate bowl.
  2. Mix the butter, both types of sugar, and vanilla until it is a fairly creamy mixture in a bigger bowl.
  3. Add in one egg at a time and complete by adding in the flour mixture. I used an electric mixer for step 2 and 3 –  first with mixer beaters and then with spiral dough hooks. The dough is going to be more on the thick side, but still relatively soft and slightly sticky.
  4. Add in the chocolate chips and mix with a spatula. That’s all!

I used an ice cream scoop to help me place the cookies on a baking tray lined with parchment paper. Since my oven is quite small and you need to have a generous amount of space between the cookies, I could only bake six at a time.

collage.jpg

You should bake at 185 degrees Celsius for approximately ten minutes. In total you will have 24 cookies. I don’t know how, but the website says this yields five dozen (60) cookies… I suppose mine are quite large, then 😀 Keep in mind that the tops of the cookies are meant to be soft, so don’t wait for them to completely harden before removing them from the oven.

Generally, I can definitely recommend this recipe, as the cookies are quite delicious! I know that normally cookies are pictured with milk, but for me it’s always with tea 😀 Shout-out to my friend who shared the recipe with me and shout-out to my other friend who saved me by giving me some flour – I ran out right in the middle of baking!! Thanks, girls!

17380167_10155236914909575_1792193004_o.jpg

Until next time!

– Zi

5 comments

  1. I’m so sorry they didn’t work out the way they were meant to 😦 Maybe try next time with a lower temp? Maybe 160C? Or try putting them only on bottom heat so the top doesn’t caramelize the cheese. I was so glad because I received so many cute pictures from that recipe, hopefully you will be willing to try again 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks a lot for the tip! The design is super cute and it was so simple, but I think it might also be the type of cream cheese they sell here in Turkey. Before putting in the oven it looked very much like yours, but it just didn’t come out right. I sadly don’t have much control over my oven as I live in a dorm, so I just have the top & bottom option 😦 I’ll definitely try to attempt again in the future!

      Like

Leave a Reply

