3 Easy Puff Pastry Sweet Snacks

Hello!

Since I am from Azerbaijan, we just had a holiday called Novruz, which marks the start of a new year and the beginning of spring (happy Novruz if you celebrate!). With this occasion in mind, I attempted to bake a Boston Cream Pie on Monday, but it, sadly, didn’t turn out very tasty. I was planning on baking again on the following day, but I realized I had forgotten to buy flour (such bad luck lately), so I decided to make use of the puff pastry sheets in my freezer. Since they are so versatile, here are three different variations of what you can do with them when you’re craving a sweet snack 🙂

(I also wanted to make palmiers (a French pastry also known as pig’s or elephant’s ear), but my puff pastry sheets were not big enough, so I decided to make sugar strips instead.)

1. Apple Turnovers

For this variation, all you have to do is take a pastry sheet and cut in into half, so it’s an even square. I diced a red apple into very small pieces, added a pinch of cinnamon, two very small cubes of unsalted butter, and a pinch of sugar. Feel free to add more or less of anything you prefer; it doesn’t have to be caster sugar, nor do you need to add cinnamon, for example.

Flip one corner onto the other and then, using a fork, indent the edges. Make sure your turnover is tightly sealed, so it doesn’t open when baking. Lastly, cover it with some egg wash.
17431653_10155246913449575_13124340_o.jpg

 

2. Sugar Strips

This was the easiest, with merely one ingredient, and my favorite variation. It’s such a quick snack! All you have to do is place a pastry sheet on a sugar surface, cut it into strips, and add more sugar on top. That’s all!

17474064_10155246913339575_162194845_o.jpg

3. Jam Puff Pastry Pinwheels

For this third variation, you should cut lines from the corners, leaving space in the middle. Then place whatever filling you prefer – I went for strawberry jam. Lastly, take the right corner of each side and pull it towards the middle, as pictured. Before placing in the oven, cover with egg wash.

17453540_10155246913499575_890063373_o.jpg

That’s all! Bake at approximately 200 degrees Celsius for 15-20 minutes. The sugar strips and pinwheels will take less time, while your turnovers will need some extra time to bake well on the inside. (I tried baking pinwheels and turnovers at the same time, but I don’t recommend this – my turnovers needed some extra baking.)

17407759_10155246913374575_1332667495_o

Hope you have a nice day 🙂

Until next time!

– Zi

 

 

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

