Yogurt Cake with Orange Zest for Breakfast

Happy Friday!

Today I was craving something sweet for breakfast, but I didn’t want to make pancakes or French toast, I wanted something new. Recently I have been coming across yogurt cake recipes, so I figured I could try one out; most recipes require one hour baking time, but I found one from Chocolate & Zucchini that only requires 30 minutes!

17454780_10155254908059575_667765483_o.jpg

Overall, it’s quick, easy to make, fluffy, and not too sweet. The preparation time only takes about ten minutes, you don’t need an electric mixer, and you need very basic ingredients. As an extra touch of flavor, I decided to add a light layer of orange zest on top before baking, but next time I will probably incorporate it inside the batter or try apple pieces!

Yogurt Cake with Orange Zest

  • 2 large eggs
  • 250 ml. plain yogurt
  • 160 gr. sugar (feel free to add more, as it’s less sweet than a normal cake)
  • 80 ml. vegetable oil (I used 17431548_10155254908024575_734536226_o.jpgsunflower)
  • 250 ml. flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda (I used 2 teaspoons of baking powder, since I didn’t have baking soda)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract (I used powder)
  • 1 tablespoon dark rum (I skipped this)
  • pinch of salt
  • orange zest

Pre-heat the oven to 180 degrees Celsius and take out a 20 cm. springform pan. Whisk the eggs, yogurt, sugar, oil and vanilla in one bowl. In a separate bowl sift the flour, baking powder, salt, and soda. Then add this dry mixture into your other bowl, whisking until your batter is smooth and without lumps. Generally, the batter is relatively thick, but still a bit runny. Pour your batter into your cake pan and, as an extra touch, add a thin layer of orange zest on top. I didn’t line my cake pan with parchment paper, nor did I flour or butter it, and it didn’t stick at all. Mine was ready in exactly 30 minutes.

17500103_10155254908194575_120004171_o.jpg

The result is a fluffy, soft cake; the taste slightly reminded me of the yogurt-based Russian pancakes I made, called oladushki. I do recommend adding more sugar or more orange zest if you prefer a sweeter or more flavorful cake, as it might be too plain for some people. I personally think it was a great option for breakfast! It will yield about 8-10 slices.

Hope you all have a nice weekend πŸ™‚

Until next time!

– Zi

3 comments

Leave a Reply

