Craving for Sugar Cookies

Hello again!

I hope you all had a good weekend. Here it was quite sunny and warm, but today Ankara decided to be chilly and rainy again; isn’t this the perfect weather to cuddle up in bed with a warm cup of tea and something sweet? πŸ˜› Although I was potentially considering baking something with apples, I decided otherwise, and searched the internet for some cookie recipes.

I recently tried out a tasty chocolate chip cookie recipe, so this time I decided to make some sugar cookies! I found one from allrecipes.com, with over 7,000 reviews, so I figured it would be a reliably good one. It claims to yield 60 cookies, so I decided to halve the measurements. However, I ended up with 70!!!! Hence, use bigger cookie cutters if you don’t want so many, haha.

Sugar Cookies (halved measurements)17548933_10155265081449575_1877923154_o

  • 2.5 cups (295 gr.) flour
  • 1 cup (130 gr.) sugar
  • 3/4 cup (170 gr.) butter (I used margarine)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla (I used powder)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

First cream together the butter and the sugar. Then add in the eggs and vanilla. Lastly, add the flour, baking powder, and salt. You will have a relatively thick dough, but you won’t have to particularly knead it. Since I was using an electric hand mixer, towards the end I switched to dough hooks. Cover your bowl with plastic wrap and place it in the fridge for at least an hour.

17571715_10155265082584575_1047435327_o.jpg

Pre-heat the oven to 200 degrees Celsius as you roll out the dough on a floured surface; it should be about 1 cm. thick. Use cookie cutters to cut out shapes and place them on a baking tray lined with parchment paper – do not grease your parchment paper, as this will make your cookies too oily. Bake between 6-8 minutes. As I mentioned earlier, the number of cookies depends on the size of your cookie cutters – mine are pretty small. Also, the thinner the cookies, the quicker they will bake, so keep that in mind. In total, it’s about a 2+ hour process; preparing the batter takes about 10 minutes, chilling the dough requires at least an hour, and baking this many cookies also takes an hour.

17548972_10155265081734575_1655585092_o.jpg
Before baking

Let me know if you try this recipe! I did try out a few cookies with some icing and sprinkles, but that was definitely a recipe for diabetes, as they’re very sweet on their own!! πŸ˜€

Until next time!

– Zi

One thought on “Craving for Sugar Cookies

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

