Brown Sugar Cupcakes with Funfetti Buttercream Frosting

Hey there!

Yesterday evening I decided to try out a cupcake recipe, as I haven’t baked nor eaten cupcakes in a while. I settled on brown sugar cupcakes; the original recipe pairs them with peanut butter brown sugar frosting, which I decided to skip. Instead, one of the first options when Googling a frosting recipe is the vanilla buttercream frosting recipe from Betty Crocker, so I decided to give it a go. Just to make it a little more fun, I also chose to incorporate some funfetti on top. (Side note, I tried out funfetti cupcakes with buttercream frosting a few months ago.)

The recipes are very simple with ordinary ingredients, which is always an advantage when choosing what to bake. It also requires little time!

Brown Sugar Cupcakes

  • 1 cup (250 gr.) brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups (375 gr.) flour
  • 1 large egg (I used 1 medium)
  • 3/4 cup (180 ml.) milk
  • 1/2 cup (125 gr.) melted, cooled, and unsalted butter
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract (I used two vanilla powder packets)
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • pinch of salt

Vanilla Buttercream Frosting with Funfetti

  • 1 1/2 cups (375 gr.) powdered sugar
  • 75 gr. softened butter or margarine (I used margarine)
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 1-2 tablespoons milk
  • funfetti

17918904_10155326837564575_233196255_n.jpg

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 190 degrees Celsius.
  2. Combine flour, salt, soda, and vanilla (if using powder).
  3. In a separate, large bowl beat together the eggs with the sugar. Add the milk (and vanilla, if you’re using vanilla extract) and slowly add in the melted butter.
  4. Add the dry ingredients and mix until everything is well-combined and the batter is smooth.
  5. Fill in your cupcake liners with batter and bake for 15-25 minutes. Make sure to monitor so they don’t burn! In total this recipe yields 12 cupcakes. I recommend using silicone cupcake liners.
  6. Allow your cupcakes to cool completely (approximately 20-25 minutes, depending on your kitchen’s temperature) before you frost them.
  7. For the frosting simply mix the powdered sugar with butter and vanilla. Milk should be added at the end; add only as much as needed to make it smooth. If it’s too thick, add more milk, if it’s too thin, add more sugar.
  8. Frost your cupcakes and sprinkle funfetti on top! Done! 🙂

I am so disappointed, because I had taken a few photos on my phone, but I accidentally deleted all except the one uploaded on my Instagram page 😦 So I apologize for the lack of images!

The cupcakes are very delicious! One friend said they even slightly tasted like cinnamon, while another said they were probably one of her favorite cupcakes she has ever tried. The frosting is not too overwhelming, considering how the cupcakes themselves are quite sweet. I am even potentially considering trying this recipe to make cookies, because they almost taste like cookie flavored cupcakes 😀

Let me know if you try this recipe out 🙂

Until next time!

– Zi

Leave a Reply

