Citrus Craving: Lemon Loaf

Hello everyone!

Last evening I decided to bake something using my loaf pan, which I hardly ever use. In fact, this will be the first recipe featured on my blog using a loaf pan! (You can check the full list of recipes here.) I also have been baking a lot of chocolate flavored desserts, so I decided to find something with a citrus flavor. Hence, I selected the lemon loaf recipe from food.com, which is an American website with thousands of recipes.  I decided not to cover it in lemon glaze, as I did not have any fresh lemons nor powdered sugar left.

Lemon Loaf 18049696_10155347489259575_1312728051_o

  • 1/2 cup (125 gr.) butter/margarine/shortening (I used margarine)
  • 1 cup (250 gr.) sugar
  • 1/2 cup (125 ml.) milk
  • 1 1/2 cups (375 gr.) flour
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 lemon’s zest (I used 2 teaspoons of lemon juice)

First, cream the butter or margarine with sugar in one bowl. Add in the eggs, one by one, and finish off with the milk. In a separate bowl, mix together the flour, baking powder, salt, and lemon zest/lemon juice. Add into the first bowl and mix until everything is smooth and well-mixed. Very simple, right? While you’re preparing the batter, make sure you’re pre-heating the oven at 180 degrees Celsius. Pour your batter into a loaf pan (approx. 22 cm. by 12 cm.) and bake for 55-60 minutes. Let the cake cool for 5 minutes before you remove it from the loaf pan. Now it’s ready to be eaten!

collage.jpg

It is a very light and fluffy cake, which I loved. The citrus taste is very subtle, though I imagine lemon zest might make it stronger. I didn’t want to replace with too much lemon juice, in case it would affect the texture of the cake. I think it’s perfect even as a breakfast cake and definitely with some afternoon tea, so definitely try it out 🙂 In fact, I’m off to brew myself a cup of tea and have some of this lemon loaf!

18034740_10155347487879575_36611028_n.jpg
(My apologies for the yellow lighting, but look how soft and fluffy it is!)

Don’t forget to follow me on Instagram and feel free to share recipes I should try out.

Until next time!

– Zi

 

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

