First Attempt: Mutekke (Azerbaijani Pastry)

Hi everyone!

Seeing how there is an International Festival event at my university tomorrow, I figured I could bake something Azerbaijani for people to taste. In the past I had tried making şekerbura and I had also shared my mom’s şeker çorek, so this time I chose something new. I decided to bake mutekke (mütəkkə in Azerbaijani, мутаки in Russian), once again using the recipe from Feride Buyuran; mutekke is actually the word for our traditional bolster pillows.

https://acupofteawithzi.files.wordpress.com/2017/04/7b639-12716475_867479526711253_1846854521_n.jpg?w=276&h=276
A version of handmade mutekke

The recipe requires minimal ingredients and the preparation is also rather simple, but as my first attempt, I definitely did not roll the dough out thin enough. Hence, being quite perfectionist with such matters, I decided I would not share these pastries tomorrow, but instead would share my experience here on my blog.

Mutekke (Sugar & Walnut Pastries)18090597_10155354398309575_1559899271_o.jpg

  • 2 3/4 cups (680 gr.) flour
  • 115 gr. cold, unsalted butter
  • 1 cup (250 gr.) sour cream/yogurt
  • 2 large egg yolks
  • 1/2 cup (125 gr.) walnuts
  • 1/4 cup (60 gr.) sugar (you can use up to 1/2 cup, 125 gr.)
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cardamom (optional)
  • powdered sugar

For the preparation of the dough, all you have to do is cut the cold butter into chunks and mix it into the flour with your hands. At first it might feel weird, but eventually you will have a bowl of small crumbs. Once you no longer have lumps, add in the two egg yolks and the sour cream, still using your hands to mix. Once again, it will feel quite sticky and unusual, but after a few minutes you will have a ball of dough. Keep kneading till it is no longer sticking to your hands. The dough should not be dry, however; I added about 2 1/4 cups of the flour in the beginning and added the remaining after I started kneading. This way you make sure you don’t add too much flour.

Once your dough is ready, divide it into three balls, and cover them with plastic wrap before putting them in the fridge to chill for 30 minutes. Before taking them out, mix your walnuts, sugar, and ground cardamom (if you want) in a bowl.

18090757_10155354398574575_13291717_o.jpg

Roll one ball at a time into a big, thin circle. Cut the circle in half and cut wedges as seen in the photo. (Note that my circle was too small and should have been thinner) You can keep them big and wide, so eight wedges per circle, or you can cut more and have smaller pastries. I cut more wedges with the other two balls. Then place the filling towards the top but try to keep some distance on the edges or it might spill out (something I also need practice with). By the way, your walnuts can be very finely grounded or more chunky like mine, this depends on your preference.

collage.jpg

Then simply roll the pieces up, like you would with crescent rolls, and place them on a baking tray lined with parchment paper. Bake for about 25 minutes at 195 degrees Celsius. Make sure you don’t overbake or else they will be hard. They should be slightly golden in color. If your dough is not thin enough, then it will take longer to bake, which is likely to make them harder (this happened to me).

18042805_10155354398549575_249007666_o.jpg
This was with 2 balls. So this recipe can yield up to 30.

Once done, let them cool for a bit and then simply cover in powdered sugar 🙂 They’re sweet and slightly crunchy, so they’re perfect almost bite-sized treats.

I suppose I am quite pleased with the results for my first attempt, but I definitely intend on doing a better job next time! Let me know if you’ve ever tried something like this before.

Until next time!

– Zi

One comment

Leave a Reply

