Swedish Sticky Chocolate Cake: Kladdkaka

Happy Monday!

Hope you all had a good weekend. I was having a bad morning, so I decided to bake as a way of cheering myself up today. I had recently saved a Swedish sticky chocolate cake baking video from Buzzfeed’s “Tasty” page, so I decided to try it out today. Known as kladdkaka in Swedish, it is by far one of the best chocolate cakes I’ve ever had. In my opinion, it is like a soufflé pie!

18159478_10155361216599575_1571073360_o.jpg

I, unfortunately, only own a big pie pan, so I had to use my 22cm. cake pan; I definitely recommend using a small pie pan, as instructed in the video, or even soufflé cups. Otherwise, although scrumptious, it will be very thin, like mine!

Kladdkaka18120448_10155361216539575_218491254_o.jpg

  • 1/2 cup (125 gr.) flour
  • 1/4 cup (60 gr.) cocoa
  • 1 1/3 cup (335 gr.) sugar
  • 1/2 cup (125 gr.) melted butter
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla (I used 2 vanilla packets)
  • pinch of salt

Just as there are few ingredients, there are equally few instructions. Simply mix the sugar with the eggs until you have a light yellow mixture, sift in the cocoa, flour, and salt, and finish off with the melted butter. If you will use vanilla extract, add it with the butter, but if you will use vanilla powder, then add it with the dry ingredients. You may first use a whisk and then switch to a spatula.

Since I used aluminum foil, I did not butter or flour my cake pan. You will have to bake for approximately 20 minutes at 175 degrees Celsius. Essentially, the top will be like a thin crust, whereas the inside will be sticky and liquidy. You can eat it simple or add some powdered sugar, a scoop of ice cream, and/or berries.

18109931_10155361216519575_1095302410_o.jpg

As I wrote earlier, it is definitely one of the most delicious cakes I’ve ever had; I also love how quick and simple it is to make kladdkaka. Although you can cut it into eight slices, I believe a maximum of four people would eat it in minutes. Please try this cake and let me know what you think! I am currently finishing my second slice with a cup of freshly brewed tea.

Until next time!

– Zi

2 comments

Leave a Reply

