Easy Dessert: Walnut Butter Cake

Hi everyone, I’m back!

As I am nearing my last days of classes as an undergraduate student, I have been very busy. I also took a much-needed weekend getaway vacation to the seaside, but now I am more free and ready to bake again! I still had some walnuts left from when I made the Azerbaijani mutekke, so I searched the internet for a walnut cake recipe, and landed on a walnut butter cake from Rasa Malaysia. Although I have baked a butter cake before, which is becoming a favorite among my friends, this one adds a twist to it.

18318533_10155392596699575_714734931_o.jpg
It broke when taking out of the pan, oops!

Walnut Butter Cake

  • 110 gr. flour
  • 125 gr. butter
  • 80gr. sugar
  • 60 gr. ground walnuts
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 tablespoons milk
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract (I used powder)
  • walnuts for topping (as many as desired)

(Check my Instagram for a short video clip of the baking process!)

The preparation of the batter requires you to first cream the butter, vanilla essence, and sugar until you have a fluffy mixture. (Since I used vanilla powder, I added it later) This will take you about 3-5 minutes; your mixture will be a pale color, rather than yellow. Then add in the eggs one by one, beating them in.

Capture.jpgSift your flour and baking powder (and vanilla powder) and add in the ground walnut and milk. Lastly, after a good mix, pour your batter into a greased loaf or cake pan, and add in some walnuts on top. The original recipe specifies 30 grams of walnuts for the topping, but I just added as many as I needed. You will have to bake for about 30-35 minutes at 180 degrees Celsius.

Baking tip: When you’re grinding the walnuts in a blender, blend a few at a time, and measure. I’ve made the mistake before of measuring before grinding, so I ended up with way too much. In other words, you need 60 grams of ground walnuts, not 60 grams of walnuts that you will grind.

Overall, it is a very soft and light cake, with a subtle walnut taste. I loved the roasted walnut taste on top, so next time I will add more. I also recommend lining your cake pan with parchment paper, because otherwise the cake is very difficult to take out. Also, since it is a very soft cake, you should be gentle with it, or else it will break into pieces when taking it out of the pan… like mine šŸ˜€ Generally, my friends really liked this cake, so I definitely recommend it.

Don’t forget to follow my Instagram for visuals, I’m trying to incorporate more videos too šŸ™‚

Until next time!

– Zi

Leave a Reply

