Peach & Cherry Jam Thumbprint Cookies

Good evening!

If you’re ever wondering what to do with your leftover jam, or like in my case, your numerous jars of homemade jams from your mother and grandmother, then here is a solution – bake thumbprint cookies! As I am graduating and moving back home in a month, I have been focused on giving away things. However, I had already given away five jars and was left with nearly ten more. Hence, I searched for dessert recipes with jam, and thumbprint cookies appeared at the top every time. They’re immensely easy to make and require very basic and little amount of ingredients!

The original Martha Stewart recipe calls for chocolate as the filling, but I decided to stray away from that choice. In total, you will only need six ingredients and approximately 1-1.5 hours. This recipe yields approximately 40 cookies.

Jam Thumbprint Cookies18518949_10155427205674575_1184062580_o.jpg

  • 1 1/4 cup (310 gr.) flour
  • 1 stick (115 gr.) butter
  • 1/2 cup (125 gr.) powdered sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla powder
  • pinch of salt
  • jam of your preference

Pre-heat the oven to 175 degrees Celsius as you prepare the dough. Beat together the butter, powdered sugar, vanilla, and salt. Once it’s mixed, add in the flour. After a few minutes of using the electric mixer, I switched to my hands; I placed the dough (with all the crumbs) onto the counter surface and kept mixing and rolling the dough until I had a ball. Don’t focus on particularly kneading it, but rather rolling it all into one uniform mass. Overall, expect a slightly sticky but workable dough.

18552799_10155427206869575_575989155_o.jpg

Use a teaspoon to scoop small pieces and roll them into balls. Place the balls on a baking tray lined with ungreased parchment paper, with space between them, and bake for approximately 10 minutes. Remove the cookies, make an indentation with your thumb, and place back to bake for another 6-9 minutes. You will know they are ready by their golden bottoms.

collage.jpg

The jam you choose is completely up to your preference, but I find the recipe rather sweet, so I think next time I will decrease the sugar; this will probably make the jam flavor more noticeable. Also, don’t be afraid when making the indentation, because as you can see from mine, I didn’t press all of them hard enough, and they rose back up.

In general, they’re great bitesize desserts for when you have few ingredients lying around and/or when you don’t want to work too much. I accidentally used about 40 grams more of flour, so the cookies came out a little dense, but oh well, mistakes happen 😀 The flavor reminds me of sugar cookies or even Azerbaijani pastries called sheker chorek.

Until next time!

– Zi

 

 

Leave a Reply

