Sunday Baking: Funfetti Cookies

Greetings!

Today after my 9 am exam I continued watching The Great British Bake Off, which inspired me to bake something. Have any of you watched that show? It’s astonishing how many options one has when baking! Of course, I am limited with the number of ingredients available in Turkey and my budget, so I took a glimpse at my pantry and decided to use my funfetti sprinkles. Hence, today I baked 45 funfetti cookies 🙂

The recipe from a user on Food.com is all from scratch and generally has very basic ingredients. In fact, the cookies are very much like the sugar cookies I had made before. By the way, a few months ago I had made funfetti cupcakes, so check them out!

Funfetti Cookies18624598_10155446015694575_2072964981_n.jpg

  • 2 1/2 cup (750 gr.) flour
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda (I used 1 teaspoon of baking powder)
  • 1 cup butter (I used 210 gr. margarine)
  • 1 cup (250 gr.) sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract (I used powder)
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tablespoons milk
  • 1/2 cup (125 gr.) sprinkles (80 gr. of larger ones is enough)

(I have made a short baking video for my Instagram, so feel free to watch it for some visuals of the baking process.)

First in one bowl whisk together the dry ingredients – flour, salt, soda, and vanilla (if you’re using powder). Then in a separate bowl beat the butter and later add in the sugar. Once you have a creamy mixture, add one egg, mix, and then incorporate the dry mixture. Lastly, add in the milk. I used an electric mixer but towards the end I used my hand to finish it off, as you will be left with dough, not liquid batter. You will need to lightly knead the dough for approximately 1 minute and it will unite. Then add the sprinkles and knead until they are uniformly dispersed in the dough.

Use a teaspoon to scoop out some dough and roll into a ball. After use a glass to flatten out the ball. You can make them as small or big as you want. I had 45 in total, but if I had made them all equally small, I’d probably have 50-60.

Bake for about 10 minutes at 175 degrees Celsius. Your cookies will be soft on the top when you take them out, but you will know they are ready based on the golden bottoms. As they cool, they will harden, so don’t worry about the tops! These are generally very simple but fun cookies with a sweet taste. Since I had 45 and a small oven, in total it took me about 40-50 minutes to finish baking them all. They don’t spread out too much, so you don’t need too much space in between.

18618200_10155446015524575_897608410_o.jpg

I hope you all have a great start to the week tomorrow 🙂

Until next time!

– Zi

Leave a Reply

