No Bake Malaysian Cake: Kek Batik

Hi everyone!

In April we had our second annual international festival at my university, which is where I was able to taste a Malaysian cake called kek batik. Luckily for me, I was able to acquire the recipe, so on Thursday I finally decided to give it a try! (Thanks Lum for sharing the recipe!) As the title suggests, this requires no baking time, but instead at least 5 hours in the fridge or overnight; I kept mine overnight.

Batik Cake18720800_10155460585394575_2100336279_o.jpg

  • 130 gr. finger biscuits
  • 50 gr. chopped walnuts
  • 100 gr. dark chocolate chips (I used milk chocolate)
  • 30 gr. cocoa powder
  • 100 gr. condensed milk
  • 50 gr. unsalted butter or margarine (I used margarine)
  • 50 gr. sugar
  • 2 eggs (I used medium)

As before, I made a video of the whole process, so check my Instagram page. Hopefully over time I can improve the quality, as it can be tricky filming with a phone with one hand and using the other to bake! 😀

The whole process essentially requires only a pot. First combine the chocolate chips, cocoa powder, condensed milk, margarine, and sugar and let everything melt in a pot on medium-low heat. Keep stirring until everything is melted and then remove the pot from the heat and use a wire whisk to whisk in the 2 eggs. Once they’re stirred in, place the pot back on the oven and stir everything until you have a thicker paste. It’s almost like making a custard. Make sure your mixture does not start burning; if you see it bubbling before it has thickened, then lower the heat.

collage.jpg

Remove the pot from the heat and add in your biscuits. I just used my hands to break them into several pieces. Then add in your walnuts and mix until everything is well covered in the chocolate batter. Lastly, cover a loaf/bread pan in aluminum foil, place the batter inside, and then cover it with foil. Use a spoon to even everything out and place in the fridge for at least 5 hours or overnight.

(By the way, I finally took the opportunity to use the condensed milk I had brought back from Azerbaijan, which in Russian is called sgushonka.)

18685515_10155460585439575_395189556_n.jpg

As I mentioned in the beginning, I kept mine overnight. In my experience, it did stick to the aluminum foil, so it was a little tricky when removing. However, the taste is lovely! It tastes like a cookie bar with some sort of chocolate, caramel, and walnut flavor. It looks quite similar to the original recipe photos, so I suppose for my first attempt I can be quite content 🙂 (By the way, I have this new ceramic display stand thanks to my boyfriend, yay!)

18765546_10155467857509575_86224873_o.jpg

If you have any traditional dessert recipes, please feel free to share them with me! I’ve already made Azerbaijani, Turkish, British, and Swedish desserts before, so I’m always up for something new.

Until next time!

– Zi

4 comments

Leave a Reply

