Dutch Apple Cake

Hello! Or as they say in the Netherlands, hallo!

This time I settled for a supposed Dutch apple cake, as apples are one of my favorite fruits, but, to be honest, I am not sure what makes this cake Dutch. (Anyone know? :D) It’s essentially a very delicious fluffy sponge cake with apples and cinnamon. I have made a similar cake before, also using apples and cinnamon, but the recipe was slightly different. I found this recipe from allrecipes.co.uk, by the way, which is titled as easy; I can definitely agree it’s simple to make, but it takes nearly an hour to bake (hey, that rhymed!).

Dutch Apple Cake

  • 100 gr. butter (I used margarine)
  • 200 gr. sugar19212926_10155538614684575_1663514185_o.jpg
  • 1 egg (I used large)
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract (I used powder)
  • 190 gr. flour
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 175 ml. milk
  • 2 apples (I used red)
  • 4 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon

Start by sifting your flour, baking powder, salt (and vanilla powder, if you use it) into one bowl. Then in a separate bowl beat the butter and sugar until it’s creamy, after which you should mix in the egg. (I personally used an electric mixer when preparing this cake.) Now add in the flour mixture into this batter, alternating with the milk. You will have a very fluffy batter, as you can tell from the photo.

19249897_10155538615044575_155746248_o.jpg

Pour the batter into a 20-22 cm. greased and floured cake pan. Then peel and cut your apples into eight wedges before pressing them into the batter. It’s generally up to you how you prefer placing the apple wedges, but the original recipe states to press them in rows. Lastly, sprinkle four tablespoons of sugar and one teaspoon of cinnamon on top before baking for 50 minutes at 180 degrees Celsius.

19205132_10155538614999575_1720063814_o.jpg

In the end you will have a semi-sweet but very light cake with a hint of cinnamon. It’s a wonderful tea or breakfast cake, as it’s very fluffy, and I personally loved the addition of apple to this relatively regular sponge cake. I made this cake for my parents, who came to attend my sister and I’s graduation ceremony on the weekend, and they loved it!

19243745_10155538614239575_1961309574_o.jpg
So fluffy 🙂

Until next time!

– Zi

One thought on “Dutch Apple Cake

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

