Oreo Brownie Cake

Hello everyone!

Wow, this is the first time I am baking in 2 weeks, oops! I just had my graduation prom on Tuesday and have my graduation ceremony on the weekend, so it has been a busy period. Nevertheless, this period is marked with many birthdays; yesterday was my friend’s 22nd birthday, so I figured it would be a great time to bake. Since I haven’t baked a cake in a while and my friend likes brownies, I decided to settle on a chocolate brownie cake recipe from BBC Good Food. However, I changed the recipe a little bit, so below you can see a comparison.

Capture.JPG

In regards to utensils, this cake only requires 1 saucepan, a whisk, 1 mixing bowl, and 2 small bowls for the egg whites and yolks. It takes around 15-20 minutes to prepare (depending on the cooling time) and around 45 minutes to bake at 180 degrees Celsius.

19198149_10155537357759575_1981183435_n.jpgFirst you have to melt the butter, Oreo Milka bars, and brown sugar in a saucepan. You should expect some small Oreo chunks (can you tell through the photo?) and the melted mixture to be like sludge. Then allow this to cool down; you can place it in the fridge for 5-10 minutes to speed up the process.When your mixture is no longer hot, transfer it into a mixing bowl, into which you should whisk in the three egg yolks. Next add the flour and vanilla powder. Finally, in a separate small bowl whisk the egg whites until they form soft peaks and slowly incorporate it into the batter. You will have a fairly gooey batter, so don’t be surprised. Pour this batter into a 20-22 cm. cake pan lined with parchment paper and bake! 🙂

The result is a chewy chocolate cake, which you can eat with ice cream or powdered sugar. As you can tell, I used powdered sugar to have Z for my friend, Zayan. You will feel like you are eating a brownie but with a subtle Oreo taste, it’s delicious! It’s quite small and it didn’t rise a lot, but if you cut into small pieces, you can easily treat 10+ people, which is what I did. Let me know if you will try this cake out!

19181985_10155537357914575_56345919_o.jpg

Until next time!

– Zi

P.S. We were eating this cake past midnight, so excuse the terrible lighting and low quality photos.

 

 

Leave a Reply

