Vanilla Muffins with Buttercream Icing and Coconut

Greetings from Azerbaijan!

     I am currently an unemployed graduate with loads of free time, so although I have plenty of unpacking and organizing to do, I got right back to baking today 😀 It’s nearly 30 degrees Celsius here in Baku, so it’s quite hard choosing a dessert to try out. For example, today I made vanilla muffins with buttercream icing and coconut, but the icing was melting very quickly (as you will notice from the photos). I think I want to try out some frozen desserts, so if you have any recipes, please share! 🙂

     The following vanilla muffin recipe is from Chelsea Sugar, a New Zealand sugar company, but originally intended to be made as cupcakes. Honestly, though, muffins and cupcakes are the same thing in my eyes, except that they’re a little different in size. By the way, I have already used a Chelsea Sugar recipe; I made some chocolate chip muffins in March using their website.

Vanilla Muffins with Buttercream Icing and Coconut19490066_10155570765239575_1219017606_o.jpg

  • 150 gr. softened butter (I used margarine)
  • 1 1/2 (375 gr.) cups sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla (I used a Dr. Oetker packet)
  • 2 1/2 cups (625 gr.) self-raising flour (I used regular flour and 2 packets of Dr. Oetker baking powder)
  • 1 1/4 (310 ml.) cups milk
  • Desiccated coconut (optional; not included in original recipe)
  • 50 gr. butter (for icing)
  • 1/2 cup (125 gr.) + 1/4 cup (60 gr.) powdered sugar (for icing)
  • 1-2 tablespoons milk (for icing)

     This recipe yields 24 cupcakes, but I made 18 muffins. Mine are a little brown because my mom had pre-heated the oven and I hadn’t paid attention to the fact that the fan was on; if you are using a fan, then you should bake at 170 degrees Celsius. I mistakenly baked at 180-190 degrees Celsius.

     First beat your butter until it’s creamy, then add your sugar, and once it’s all mixed crack in your eggs. Sift in your flour, baking powder (if you’re not using self-raising flour), and vanilla powder. As a final step, pour in your milk and beat until everything is fluffy and creamy. Use an ice cream scooper to help you pour the batter into your muffin tins; my muffin tins are silicone, so I didn’t flour or butter them. Make sure you don’t fill until the very top or else they will rise and overflow. You will have to bake for 20 minutes.

19478316_10155570766019575_957341764_o.jpg

     After you have allowed your muffins to cool, place them on a plate and prepare your icing. The icing is also super easy, as you just need to mix your butter, powdered sugar, and milk. Then use a knife to frost and sprinkle however much desiccated coconut you desire. As you can see, I only frosted and sprinkled a few, because the icing was melting off, so I ditched this idea 😀

19495560_10155570765549575_811341000_o.jpg

     My parents, sister, and grandmother all liked these muffins, are they’re fluffy and soft, with a sweet vanilla flavor. The coconut is a nice touch, but it’s completely up to your personal taste. Also, if you choose to frost them, then I recommend doing so just before you serve them and, if needed, popping them in the freezer for 1-2 minutes if your icing starts melting. You can check my Instagram, @acupofteawithzi, for a video tutorial!

19490054_10155570765124575_372160370_o.jpg

Until next time!

– Zi

 

Leave a Reply

