Easy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Hi everyone!

     Have you ever tried the Starbucks oatmeal raisin cookies? I’m personally a huuuge fan, so I decided to try my own hand at making similar cookies, with the intention of breaking up my cake making spree (have you noticed most of my recent posts are cakes? :D). I used the trusted Betty Crocker website for this tasty recipe, which turned out to be very quick and easy! In total I had around 20 large and medium cookies, but if you bake smaller sizes, you can end up with 30-40!

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

  • 3/4 cup (180 gr.) sugar
  • 1/4 cup (60 gr.) brown sugar19885846_10155631739509575_1415288412_o.jpg
  • 1/2 cup (125 gr.) margarine or butter (I used margarine)
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract or powder (I used powder)
  • 1 egg
  • 3/4 cup (180 gr.) flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 1/2 cups (375 gr.) oats
  • 1/2 cup raisins (or you can use dried blueberries, cranberries etc.)
  • 1/2 cup nuts (optional; I didn’t add any)

     First grab a bowl and an electric mixer and beat together both sugars and your margarine/butter. If you’re using vanilla extract, add that in with your egg and mix. If your vanilla is in powder form, then add it along with your dry ingredients (flour, soda, cinnamon, salt). Now get a spatula and stir in your oats, raisins, and nuts (if you choose to add them). You will have a slightly sticky but thick dough mixture; make sure your raisins and oats are evenly distributed and well incorporated into the batter.

     Depending on how many cookies you want to have and which size, use either a teaspoon or a tablespoon to help scoop the appropriate size and place on a baking tray lined with parchment paper. I personally used a tablespoon, as I wanted to have large/medium cookies. The original recipe claims to yield 42 cookies if you use a teaspoon, whereas I had about 20 with a tablespoon. You will have to bake for approximately 7-8 minutes at 180 degrees Celsius. When you first take them out, they will seem a bit too soft, but they will harden as they cool, so don’t worry. However, be careful, allow them to cool on the baking tray, or else they will break apart when you pick them up! (Trust me, 2-3 cookies of mine broke because I was impatient :D)

      The cookies are very sweet, but I feel like if there were nuts it would balance the sweetness more. If you will skip the nuts, you can experiment with a little less sugar. Other than that, they’re soft and chewy, with a lovely hint of cinnamon! I personally think they’re a great snack 🙂

19840566_10155631741229575_1703131162_o.jpg

Until next time!

– Zi

2 comments

Leave a Reply

