First Attempt: Upside Down Nectarine Cake

Hi everyone!

     I have always wanted to try an upside down pineapple or apple cake, but today I only had a few nectarines to bake with. To my surprise, I found an upside down nectarine cake recipe from Damn Delicious! You will need about an hour’s time, so it is a fairly quick dessert, as you can serve it right after 5-10 minutes. Below you will find my honest opinion of how the cake turned out for me.

Upside Down Nectarine Cake20394652_10155687384164575_1538746936_o.jpg

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 8 tablespoons melted butter (I used margarine)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 4 nectarines

     First mix your flour, white sugar, baking soda, and salt in one big bowl. Then in a separate smaller bowl whisk your buttermilk, four tablespoons melted butter, and eggs. (As I did not have any buttermilk, I added one tablespoon of lemon juice into a cup of regular milk.) Add in your wet ingredients into your flour mixture and use a silicone spatula to mix everything. Once your batter is ready, grab a 23 cm. cake pan and pour the remaining four tablespoons of butter into it. I used a springform cake pan, which was not a good idea, as the butter leaked out. Hence, use a closed cake pan or cast iron skillet. Then evenly coat your cake pan with the brown sugar and finish off by lining it with your nectarine slices. Lastly, pour your batter in and bake at 175/180 degrees Celsius for 45 minutes.

20348118_10155687379969575_961273493_o.jpg
Make sure to keep no space! Learn from my mistake 😀

     (Baking tip: I strongly advise you to make sure you have no space between your nectarine slices, which was one of my mistakes. I focused more on making it even and pretty, so I didn’t mind about the few gaps in between, which is how I ended up having a very doughy and sweet texture on top of the slices.) Allow your cake to cool for 5-10 minutes before you flip it over and serve it.

collage.jpg

Overall, it is a soft cake, but I found it a little too overwhelmingly sweet. Also, due to my mistake with the spacing of the nectarine slices, it doesn’t have a traditional upside down cake appearance. Nevertheless, it is good enough for my first attempt using this recipe, so I think with practice it will get better. Next time I might even use less brown sugar or use this recipe in a different way; bake the batter with the nectarine slices on top, with no brown sugar.

Until next time!

– Zi

 

Leave a Reply

