Sharlotka (Шарлотка) – Russian Apple Cake

Hi/Привет!

      I am back with another Russian recipe (if you missed out, I had made Russian pancakes a few months ago), which is very easy and essentially only requires five (!!) ingredients. This is a scrumptious and famous apple dessert, very much like a cake, but without any butter or milk. You will find the same recipe floating all over the internet, but I used one from Smitten Kitchen. My family is so used to having homemade desserts because of me, that they were already casually asking me when and if I was planning on baking soon 😀

Sharlotka20622689_10155721921719575_1404124248_o.jpg

  • 6 apples (ideally green/Granny Smith)
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup (125 gr.) flour
  • 1 cup (200 gr.) sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract (I used powder)
  • Cinnamon (optional; before serving)
  • Powdered sugar (optional; before serving)

     First grab a mixing bowl and an electric mixer to beat your eggs with the sugar. This will take about 3-4 minutes, as you need to achieve a creamy mixture, doubled in volume. Next add in your vanilla and finish with your flour, gradually adding it in as you keep mixing. Your batter will be quite thick, so don’t be surprised. This recipe ideally requires green apples; I am not sure what apples mine are, but you basically need slightly sour apples for this cake, hence green.

20615212_10155721664389575_2124742699_o.jpg

      Make sure your apples are peeled, cored, and sliced; after I peeled my apples, I used a slicer, and then chopped the pieces into half. Also, the recipe calls for six apples, but I used seven, as mine are slightly small. Don’t worry about cutting them all the same size. Place your apples into a 22 cm. springform cake pan lined with parchment paper and buttered sides. Then pour your batter on top of your apples and bake for approximately 55-60 minutes at 170/175 degrees Celsius. Cool for 10 minutes before you remove the cake out of the pan, flip it over, and serve with cinnamon and/or powdered sugar. (I accidentally powdered the cake before realizing I should have flipped it, oops)

collage.jpg

      This cake is extremely delicious and will not last more than a day in your house! My grandmothers, parents, and sister all highly approved this dessert, so I can promise that you will love it. It is very soft and fluffy, with just enough sweetness, and wonderful as a tea snack or even breakfast cake. I think my family decided I would be baking this for them quite regularly from now on 😀

20629239_10155721921994575_650286438_o.jpg

Until next time!

– Zi

 

Leave a Reply

